- Google is helping you fight Drive sharing spam by letting you block users.
- You can also remove everything a spammer has shared.
- The solution will take a few months to reach everyone.
Use Google Drive for long enough and you’ll invariably get spam, whether it’s a phishing scam or a not-so-subtle ‘adult’ ad — and without basic measures to stop offenders, you might even get the same junk over and over again. The company is finally dealing with the issue, however, as Android Police notes that Google is adding some vital block tools to Drive.
Google Drive will soon let you block users from sharing any content, helping you thwart users with a history of spam. You can also revoke someone’s access, even if you’ve shared it before. And if you have a glut of spammed material, you can remove all the files and folders a given user has shared.
Google expects to roll out the Drive spam controls over the “next few months.” When they arrive, you should find them in Drive’s “Shared With Me” section.
This isn’t a perfect solution. You can’t whitelist email addresses allowed to share with you, for instance. The block tools will help you at least cope with Google Drive spam when it does arrive, though, and it may be helpful if you need to cut ties with someone and would rather not see their contributions every time you have to find an important document.